Empower Schools Alliance


The Empower Schools Alliance is a collaborative forum of Primary and Secondary schools operating within the Stockport area.  The Alliance works with a range of strategic partners including Elmridge Teaching School in Trafford, Stockport Local Authority and a range of Higher Education Institutions, including Edge Hill University and Manchester Metropolitan University. Gatley Primary School is the lead Teaching School, which provides the Alliance schools with a range of school improvement, CPD and wider developmental opportunities.

The Empower Schools Alliance currently comprises the following schools:

  • Bolshaw Primary School
  • Etchells Primary School
  • Gatley Primary School
  • Kingsway Secondary School
  • Meadowbank Primary School
  • Norris Bank Primary School
  • Outwood Primary School
  • Torkington Primary School

The Alliance has identified System Leaders including NLEs, LLEs and SLEs who have supported our school in our journey from Requires Improvement to Good.  We are now in a position where we no longer draw on the regular support but instead engage in joint development opportunities such as the Outstanding Teachers Programme (involving 2 of our staff) and the Research and Development groups which include 5 of our teachers.