Science- All Living Things and Animals including Humans

Lessons taken by Mrs Mallinson.

All Living Things

  • recognise that living things can be grouped in a variety of ways
  • explore and use classification keys to help group, identify and name a variety of living things in their local and wider environment
  • recognise that environments can change and that this can sometimes pose dangers to living things.

Animals including Humans

  • describe the simple functions of the basic parts of the digestive system in humans
  • identify the different types of teeth in humans and their simple functions
  • construct and interpret a variety of food chains, identifying producers, predators and prey

Use this link to research different animal diets, choose an omnivore, carnivore and an herbivore

http://animals.nationalgeographic.co.uk/animals/?source=G1801&kwid=animal%20info|811696014.

 

Zoo websites to help with the "Zoo Keeper for a Day" activity

 

Marwell Zoo http://www.marwell.org.uk/zoo_guide/encyclopaedia.asp?css=1 click on a letter of the alphabet & then choose an animal

 

Chester Zoo http://www.chesterzoo.org/ click on Animals link, then choose an animal

 

London Zoo http://www.zsl.org/zsl-london-zoo/animals/ click on one of the animals groups down the left hand side of the page

 

Whipsnade Zoo http://www.zsl.org/zsl-whipsnade-zoo/meet-the-animals/all/ click on an animal

 

Bristol Zoo http://www.bristolzoo.org.uk/learning/animals click on one of the animal groups on the left hand side of the page

 

Colchester Zoo http://www.colchester-zoo.com/explore/to-see/animals choose an animal from the list

 

Paignton Zoo http://www.paigntonzoo.org.uk/animals click on a letter of the alphabet & then choose an animal

 

Dublin Zoo http://www.dublinzoo.ie/9/Animal-Guide.aspx click on an animal group & then choose an animal